Global News

Om Prakash Rawat appointed new CEC, Ashok Lavasa made EC

Om Prakash Rawat appointed new CEC, Ashok Lavasa made EC

Om Prakash Rawat has been appointed as the next Chief Election Commissioner, and he will replace incumbent Achal Kumar Jyoti. Reports claimed that former finance commissioner Ashok Lavasa has been appointed new election commissioner. "But I would like to say that whenever the Election Commission takes a decision, it keeps in view that there is no weakness, infirmity in it", Rawat told ANI.

Rawat will take over from CEC Achal Kumar Joti whose term ends on Monday.

The Election Commission (EC) is keeping its options open on the recently notified electoral bonds scheme for funding political parties.

"Preparing legal framework, making amendments to the laws will take time". He said expression of adverse opinions is not really indicative of a trust deficit, as politics is the art of the possibilities and politicians work on those lines.

Trump Denies Netanyahu Claim That Embassy Will Move In a Year
Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu announced that India's purchase of Israeli-made Spike anti-tank rockets was "back on track". Playing a ideal host at the Ashram, Modi showed his guest the possessions of Mahatma Gandhi.

Responding to a question on the Election Commission's decision, Mr Rawat said, "It is a quasi judicial matter, so it is not right to comment on it". Three Commissioners have heard the case - (Nasim) Zaidi, (AK) Joti and myself.

On penal action for levelling allegations against the EC, Rawat said the poll panel has never considered it.

PM Modi, who had been batting for holding Lok Sabha and assembly polls together, had recently said that like festivals, elections should be held on fixed dates so that governments can function for five years. "It will ensure that whatever is propagated through social media is known to EC and the EC ensures that it is healthy input for the electorate for furthering free, fair and credible elections", Rawat said.

During his tenure, Rawat will oversee eight Assembly elections beginning with Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya in February, followed by Karnataka in April-May and finally Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Mizoram later this year.