'Transformers,' 'Fifty Shades Darker' Top Razzie Award Nominations

'Transformers,' 'Fifty Shades Darker' Top Razzie Award Nominations

According to the organisers, 87 of the top-earning 100 films past year were "sequels, remakes or rip-offs".

The Golden Raspberry Awards, also known as the Razzies, is a mock award event to "honor" the worst movies of the year and on Monday, they announced the nominations for 2017.

Meanwhile the new Transformers movie scored nine nominations.

It's a big change in fortunes for Lawrence who just six years ago won the Academy Award for Best Actress for her role as Tiffany Maxwell in Silver Linings Playbook. Big name franchises with one too many sequels dominate the pack, though there's definitely a few surprises in store in the Worst Actress category.

In the running for Worst Supporting Actor are Javier Bardem for Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales, Russell Crowe for The Mummy, Josh Duhamel and Anthony Hopkins for Transformers: The Last Knight and Mel Gibson for Daddy's Home 2.

Flu-related deaths climb to 46 across Alberta
Flu shot sign in the lobby of Schodack Internal Medicine and Pediatrics on Friday morning, September 8, 2017, in Schodack, N.Y. It doesn't hurt to call your doctor, however, if you're concerned about your illness or your symptoms seem severe.

Wahlberg is nominated for worst actor for "Transformers: The Last Knight" and for the made-in-Massachusetts comedy "Daddy's Home 2".

And Fifty Shades Darker's worst combo is "any combination of two characters, two sex toys or two sexual positions". Following closely behind the robots in disguise is Fifty Shades Darker with 8 nominations, including nods for the film's two leads, Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan.

Transformers is one of the most reviled franchises in Razzies' history, receiving a worst picture nomination for every instalment except the first. Tom Cruise, Johnny Depp and Emma Watson are in the running for these annual anti-Oscars, doled out to the worst films of the year.

Razzie winners will be announced on March 3, the day before the Oscars ceremony.